India to host limited-overs series between West Indies in Ahmedabad and Kolkata

India will play the West Indies in a limited-overs series starting February 6. Three ODIs and as many T20Is will be played in this series.

The BCCI now wants Kolkata and Ahmedabad to host the limited-overs series. The BCCI made this decision in light of the rising number of Covid-19 cases in the country.

The six matches were initially slated to occur in Jaipur, Ahmedabad, Kolkata, Thiruvananthapuram, Vishakhapatnam, and Cuttack, among other cities. However, the number of locations will be decreased to only two soon.

The West Indies also don't mind if the matches are played in smaller stadiums. India is currently playing South Africa in a three-match One-Day International series.

The Proteas defeated the 'Men in Blue' by 31 runs in the first ODI. The South Africans batted first and recorded 296/4 on the board. Temba Bavuma and Rassie van der Dussen, the South African skipper, made hundreds and put on a 204-run partnership.

The Indian bowling attack was led by Jasprit Bumrah, who took two wickets. In response, India was only able to score 265/8 on the board. Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, and Shardul Thakur all scored half-centuries for India. While Dhawan led the way with a fluent 79, Kohli and Thakur came in second and third with 51 and 50*, respectively.

Tabraiz Shamsi, Lungi Ngidi, and Andile Phehlukwayo took two wickets each for South Africa. Rassie van der Dussen was named Player of the Match after scoring 129* from 96 deliveries. The series' second and third one-day internationals will be played on the 21st and 23rd of January 2022, respectively. On the other side, the West Indies were defeated in a three-match ODI series.