Seven unsold Indians in IPL mega auction will participate in DPL 2022

The upcoming Dhaka Main League (DPL) 2022, Bangladesh's premier List A (50-over) tournament, will include seven Indian players, Abhimanyu Easwaran and Hanuma Vihari. Other competitors include Parvez Rasool, Chirag Jani, Baba Aparajith, Ashok Menaria, and Gurinder Singh. Notably, none of these players was sold at the IPL 2022 mega auction, which took place earlier this month.

It should be noted that each of the ten teams competing in DPL 2022 has been granted one foreign player. Furthermore, Easwaran, Vihari, Aparajith, Menaria, and Rasool are no strangers to the List A event, having already competed during the 2019-2020 season. DPL has previously included renowned Indian players such as Manoj Tiwary, Dinesh Karthik, and Yusuf Pathan.

Meanwhile, Vihari played a key role in India's 2-0 victory over Sri Lanka in the previous Test series. According to ESPNcricinfo, the right-handed batter will return to Hyderabad for a short rest before heading to Dhaka. He'll most likely join his Abahani Limited team later this week.

The club has called Afghanistan batter Najibullah Zadran to fill in for his team's opening three games, as he is expected to miss them. Easwaran, who has been a part of the Test team for a time, will work for Prime Bank. Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi will field Rasool, Rupganj Tigers will field Aparajith, Khelaghar will field Menaria, Legends of Rupganj will field Jani, and Gazi Group Cricketers will field Gurinder.

Apart from these Indian players, Mohammedan Sporting has signed former Pakistan all-rounder Mohammad Hafeez, while Shinepukur has signed Zimbabwe all-rounder Sikandar Raza. Meanwhile, Indian players who are not on IPL contracts usually don't have many tasks from April to September.

During this time, they play club cricket in a variety of countries. The same may be said for this year. While seven players will participate in the DPL in Bangladesh, Cheteshwar Pujara will represent Sussex in the English county circuit.